Author Topic: Scary Mains Power Stuff....  (Read 11458 times)

Offline unknowndomainTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Blog
Scary Mains Power Stuff....
« on: August 18, 2014, 11:03:25 pm »
Hey,

I am a physical computing technician at a university in the UK, I started a few months ago, and students appear to have been using big DIN rail relays to power projects... Generally I am very cautious of mains and avoid it all costs, but students seem to be using it with some regularity in projects to power large industrial fans, heat lamps, all sorts!

After a couple of months in the role myself and my fellow new-starter have seen a couple of terrifying instances, such as non-VDE screwdrivers on live terminal block screws... live exposed wires... waiting for an accident, and no opto-isolation, just waiting for a crossed wire to send 240V up the USB into an aluminium MacBook Pro housing...

The students are adults but they obviously don't seem to be able to partition the live mains and the low voltage side of things and treat it all like it's just plug and play USB...

Going forward these devices are being taken out of action, I have seen enough to know this isn't going to end well, and I am not prepared to see someone electrocuted in my area.

We've obviously heavily re-educated these students but we're looking for a solution that doesn't involve mains being touched by students... They don't really need to cut power leads in half and splice in relays, they just need a TTL controllable mains lead...

We've looked at the Power Switch Tail but the 220V (UK compatible) versions don't come assembled, or with any leads, so we were thinking of using some of those 2 channel relay modules you see everywhere on eBay/DX...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5V-2-CHANNEL-BOARD-RELAY-MODULE-SHIELD-FOR-ARDUINO-ARM-PIC-AVR-DSP-ELECTRONIC-UK-/271450520198?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item3f33b63a86