Author Topic: Scope for beginner  (Read 10914 times)

Offline mecanicoTopic starter

• Contributor
Scope for beginner
« on: January 04, 2016, 10:40:04 pm »
Hi folks,
I'm new to eletronics and I built a system with a PIC18f and an encoder. It happens that when I speed up the encoder, I get faulty reads on the lcd. Therefore I would like to buy a cheap oscilloscope to start debugging and get into eletronics.  I read a thread about hantek 6022be, and some people say that it is bad, others that it will fill the needs, and even that there are people developing software for it.  What do you think about this? Do you know any cheap scope that is better than this?

Greetings

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
Re: Scope for beginner
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2016, 12:51:15 am »
Almost any oscilloscope is better than no oscilloscope at all.

Yes, it will probably fill your immediate needs. But if you are going to stay in electronics as a hobby or profession, you will quickly want something better.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2016, 11:37:55 am »
If you can squeeze just a little more, the Owon VDS1022 seems to have come right down in price recently and is vastly superior to the 6022be.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/owon-vds1022i-quick-teardown-%28versus-the-hantek-6022be%29/

Edit: Other than that, the usual recommendation is the Rigol ds1054z bench scope, but thats a few hundred $ (well spent).
« Last Edit: January 05, 2016, 11:49:17 am by Gyro »
Best Regards, Chris

Offline natbuk

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2016, 01:06:06 pm »
I'd vote for the Rigol unit also. Although you might want something faster in the future, for 95% of stuff, that little scope will do the job for you and will probably still be useful in many years to come, even if you one day buy a faster one.