Author Topic: Serial audio to UART  (Read 7266 times)

Offline unknowndomainTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Blog
Serial audio to UART
« on: February 06, 2013, 08:59:27 pm »
I am working on a project where we want to send serial data out of the audio port on a computer, I have managed to get this aspect working however I am unsure how to change the output to something that will be safe to connect to the UART of an Arduino or other Atmel ATmega or ATtiny chip.

I have taken some measurements at the maximum volume level of my computer and found the signal has a slight DC offset (about -0.75V) and that the peak is only about 2.25V which isn't the 0/5 volt I would ideally see.

I have been doing some research and I think I need a capacitor to ground to remove the DC offset and a op amp to boost the signal to 5V however I am not familiar with either of these approaches as I am a hobbyist.

Another concern is that the output level may not be the same for every device. Can anyone help me to design a circuit which can correct the DC offset and the low peaks and also be flexible enough to work with different voltages, incase a different computer has a slightly higher or lower output.

The picture attached shows the signal being generated by the computer's sound card, it is transmitting 00110000.

Offline David_AVD

• Super Contributor
Re: Serial audio to UART
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 09:08:53 pm »
A quick Google search for "audio to TTL" found this:

http://robots-everywhere.com/re_wiki/index.php?title=Serial_on_Android_using_the_audio_port

That seems like a reasonable starting point.

• Regular Contributor
    • Blog
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2013, 09:14:43 pm »
Hey David,

I tried that circuit but I just seem to get the same level out as I get in, if I adjust the potentiometer it seems to invert the signal, but it doesn't adjust, it just suddenly flips over.

• Regular Contributor
    • Blog
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2013, 11:42:18 am »