Author Topic: Questions Uni-T 61 C  (Read 14380 times)

Offline BBKTopic starter

Questions Uni-T 61 C
« on: May 31, 2011, 02:12:44 pm »
Hi,
yesterday I received my Uni-T 61 C Multimeter from Hong Kong after 3 weeks of waiting.
Now I saw that it has a COM Port and not as I think a USB connection which
they sell in Germany. Can I use a normal COM to USB adapter for 6$ ?
So and because Im a noob in electronic I wonder that the Uni-T shows volts before
I will measuring a battery? Is it normal?

Regards
Sebastian

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Questions Uni-T 61 C
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 07:00:28 pm »
Can I use a normal COM to USB adapter for 6$ ?

Regards
Sebastian

hypothetically , if the software that came with it ( or the latest for download ) ,
has the ability to cooperate also with the USB models,
I think that it will work .

Sending an email to UNI-T about this subject , it would be an wiser move.

About voltage indication in the mV range , its normal .
If you cross the leads and the display goes to zero , then your multimeter works as it should .

« Last Edit: May 31, 2011, 07:03:02 pm by Kiriakos-GR »

alm

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 09:56:57 pm »
One possible issue is that some RS-232 to IR cables use handshaking signals for parasitic power to drive the LED/photo diode. Fluke used to do that with their old RS-232 cables, and had a list of tested USB-to-RS232 cables that worked with their cable. No idea if this meter uses an IR connection and how it's powered.

Offline BBKTopic starter

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 11:45:11 am »
I wrote Uni-T an Email but they write only:
"You need to pay additonal USD 18.00 to have USB cable and connectivity from your buying shop "
without any greeting or something else, very unprofessional.  :-\

@kiriakos
Thanks I also saw that in the 100$ Shootout from Dave.
Yes if I cross the lines it goes to 0 mv.

@alm