Author Topic: Setting up shop: best practices?  (Read 1833 times)

Offline Chris_77Topic starter

• Contributor
Setting up shop: best practices?
« on: July 08, 2017, 04:44:48 pm »
I'm returning to electronics after 15 years away. Lots of things have changed, and one of those things is that I can buy direct from Shenzhen in small lots via eBay.

This is good.

This is my first time really trying to set up my own shop/parts-bin, so one of the things I've started doing is not putting parts away into my storage bins until AFTER I've counted and tested the components. Yes, I'm that person who counts out 100 ceramic capacitors from a small baggie to make sure there are actually 100 there.

I can test resistors and LEDs easily enough (I have a DMM), but I can't readily test capacitors, and I'd have to wire up a harness to test 7-segment LED displays.

How does everyone here test their components? Do you test everything that comes in immediately, or throw it into your parts-bin and test before use? How would I go about testing ICs in an easy way? Connect VCC and GND and do a continuity test between the two? Actually wire them up in a jig/circuit that should produce a known result, and probe outputs? What is the best practice here? I remember EE lab and having parts that had failed but were still mixed into the bins; it was frustrating enough to spend hours troubleshooting a circuit when a failed IC was the culprit. I want to avoid that at home.

Offline sokoloff

• Super Contributor
Re: Setting up shop: best practices?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2017, 04:50:13 pm »
What percentage of your parts will be used? For me, it's down near 10% (probably less  :-DD ), so I'd much rather test on pick than test on put-away.

For ceramic caps and other jellybean parts, an eyeball test is good enough for me. Do I really care if I got shipped 98 caps in a bag that was supposed to have 100? No; I care that it looks like "definitely more than 50, most likely more than 75..."