Author Topic: Sharp XR-30X Projector Lamp Explodes  (Read 8105 times)

Offline movinupTopic starter

Sharp XR-30X Projector Lamp Explodes
« on: January 20, 2012, 04:19:13 am »
My Projector exploded with a loud pop and smoke. I removed the Projector lamp and discovered broken glass. Does anyone know if this is common and can I simply buy another replacement. I am not experienced but I will learn if I have to take the rest of the thing apart! I could use some advise...
« Last Edit: January 20, 2012, 04:22:35 am by movinup »

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Sharp XR-30X Projector Lamp Explodes
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 04:29:23 am »
Yeah, projector lamps do explode sometimes.

The manufactures try to underestimate the lifespan so the lamps get replaced before it happens but there's always a risk with metal-halide lamps. (Also people sometimes reset the hour counter to get more life out of an old lamp)

If the explosion didn't cause other damage then a new lamp should work.
You will need to clean out all the bits of exploded lamp first.
Might pay to check if broken metal halide lamps are dangerous to handle before attempting the cleanup.

The people over at AVS forum will know more about it.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2012, 04:32:48 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 06:06:55 am »
When you replace the lamp, it is vital there are no finger prints or any greasy marks on the glass envelope. Any such marks will dramatically increase the probability of the bulb exploding. You can clean the glass with a lint free cloth and isopropyl alcohol and then be really careful not to touch the glass with your fingers when you install it.

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 06:28:16 am »
I wouldn't clean a brand new lamp unless you have a reason too.
They're supposed to come clean out of the box.