Author Topic: Should I buy or rent this electronics textbook?  (Read 4273 times)

Offline TimNJTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Should I buy or rent this electronics textbook?
« on: January 29, 2015, 07:45:35 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm in my 4th semester as an EE student. I am taking my first real electronics class which will discuss the p-n junction, transistors, and all of that fun stuff. Electronics has been my biggest hobby for last 5-6 years, which has lead me to buy several books on my own.

The required book is "Microelectronic Circuits" by Sedra & Smith. Like most required texts, the Amazon reviews are not very strong, though better than some. I have looked at the previous version and it seems okay to me. There are quite a few worked out problems and decent explanations, but I'm not sure if it makes a good reference/learning book.

Here are the books I own:

Art of Electronics, Art of Electronics Student Manual, Design of Modern Transistor Circuits, Digital Design and Computer Architecture, A Student's Guide to Maxwell's Equations, RF Circuit Design, Designing Power Audio Amplifiers, Semiconductor Device Fundamentals, Electromagnetic Compatibility Engineering

So that's a decent spread. However, none of these are true "textbooks" and I was wondering if there's any good in owning textbooks vs. books written for non academic consumption/reference.

Here's the book in question: http://www.amazon.com/Microelectronic-Circuits-Electrical-Computer-Engineering/dp/0195323033/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1422557460&sr=1-1&keywords=9780195323030&pebp=1422557462170&peasin=195323033

Previous edition (Chapter 1): https://haseebsohail.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/chapter-1-microelectronic-circuits-sedra-smith-5th-edition.pdf

Any ideas? Thanks so much!

Offline saturation

• Super Contributor
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: Should I buy or rent this electronics textbook?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, 09:07:37 pm »