Author Topic: Should I get a function generator?  (Read 10294 times)

Offline int2strTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Should I get a function generator?
« on: February 17, 2015, 06:20:06 pm »
Ordered my first ever oscilloscope (DS1054Z; yay!).
Now I'm highly contemplating also buying a function generator.

Dave points them out in his "how to set up a lab video". :)

My background:
- Software engineer by trade
- Hobby level hardware tinkerer
- Have created a few PCBs; even sold one :)

What I want to do:
- LEARN :) - main reason I got the scope
- Teach my son....
- Be able to debug/fix circuits

Why I think I "need" the function generator:
- Ability to generate functions will make learning [the scope] easier
- Ability to generate PWM and other waves will allow me to debug circuits / test servos etc.

Why I think I DON'T need the function generator:
- Could probably use an Arduino to generate any functions I may need. Not as adjustable, but would probably work. Don't need high frequency (famous last words) or accuracy for what I do.

Soooooo......

I put off buying the scope for too long. It's an immense learning tool that I should have picked up sooner.
Is a function generator of equal "must have" value or is it a "have one; rarely use it" kind of think for you?

Thanks!

Offline mentaldemise

• Regular Contributor
Re: Should I get a function generator?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 07:00:02 pm »
I was wondering the same thing. I'll be interested in what people think. I have mostly the same background as you, and am just starting! I did buy a cheap little kit that I think does the Arduino thing for you: http://www.ebay.com/itm/261603309142?_trksid=p2060778.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Might be crap, dunno, haven't gotten it yet. For 13 bucks, couldn't hurt to get the soldering practice at least!

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2015, 07:08:05 pm »