Author Topic: Shunt current sense monitor with INA216  (Read 4078 times)

Offline Ludo3.14Topic starter

Shunt current sense monitor with INA216
« on: July 21, 2016, 08:22:27 pm »
Dear all,

I'm very new to electronic circuits experiments and I'm trying to measure a current over a load using a shunt resistor.
In particular my components are:
- Voltage Output Current Shunt Monitor INA216 (http://www.ti.com/product/ina216) with related Evaluation board (http://www.ti.com/tool/INA216EVM)
- an Arduino to generate a 3.3V voltage;
- a Volteq voltage generator;
- a multimeter to read the output voltage of the board.

Now, to get familiar with the board, I read the user guide (http://www.ti.com/lit/ug/sbou086/sbou086.pdf) and I'm trying to create a configuration without shunt (image enclosed)with the INA216A1 (with 25 gain coefficient).

My Vcm is 3.3V given by Arduino and the Vdiff is 3.2V generated with the Volteq. If I'm not wrong, with a 25x coefficient, I should be reading 2.5V in the Vout.

In Vin+ I put the Arduino 3.3V supply and the black (-) electrode of the voltage generator.
In Vin- I put the red (+) electrode of the voltage generator.

I carefully followed the instructions but it seems like the only thing I can read in Vout is a difference between the two voltage I'm applying. I tried several combinations (trying different GND) but the amplifier seems not to cooperate.
Am I missing something? Is there a threshold I'm going above so it doesn't work?

Thank you all.

Offline suicidaleggroll

• Super Contributor
Re: Shunt current sense monitor with INA216
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 08:38:02 pm »
My Vcm is 3.3V given by Arduino and the Vdiff is 3.2V generated with the Volteq. If I'm not wrong, with a 25x coefficient, I should be reading 2.5V in the Vout.

In Vin+ I put the Arduino 3.3V supply and the black (-) electrode of the voltage generator.