Author Topic: Simple Room Lab Setup (beginner)  (Read 3437 times)

Offline ronniegogsTopic starter

• Contributor
Simple Room Lab Setup (beginner)
« on: June 12, 2014, 09:06:38 am »
Hi I am a new member who came upon this website from Dave's videos on Youtube while looking for multimeters and soldering iron stations
I am finally setting up a simple lab for my projects. I am currently in Singapore

Background : A have a bachelor in Electrical and Electronics degree but I never really worked as an core engineer as I went into SAP consultancy and planning. So I become quite distant with from my engineering days. But I was always interested and built electronics projects and simple college competition robots back in engineering days. Now I really want to get back in the scene.
I am an avid photographer, RC hobbyist (mainly helicopters and nitro cars) and occasionally play my Les Paul as well. So hoping that by getting back into electronics I can boost up all these hobbies.

Current Projects in mind
1) Simple Kits to begin with such as timers, relay triggers, servo drivers
2) Lab Bench power supply
3) Home automation using Rasberry Pi
4) Automated Time lapse slider for my camera
5) Guitar Tube amplifier

Back to main topic. I am building a simple workshop setup in my room/bedroom/computer room

Saw Dave's video and decided I needed to setup proper and since I am a kid no more I can afford better things

Things I already have
1) Rotary
2) Dewalt cordless drill
3) Wireless power screwdriver
4) Heat-gun
5) DC battery charger (SkyRC touch screen)
6) Loads of tools for my RC hobby

First buy
A Hakko FX888D. After lot of research on stations and irons I finally decided to get a good proper station which can last me for years. Found a local dealer and got one for around 155 USD which is quite a good deal considering element14 prices and other prices. Still don't get why a US version costs so less.

What I plan to get next. Most from Dave's video above