Author Topic: Simple Voltage Regulator and Wiring Question  (Read 3388 times)

Offline gerathegTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Simple Voltage Regulator and Wiring Question
« on: July 12, 2014, 03:30:35 am »
I've never used a voltage regulator before and am somewhat new to circuits.
I'm curious about an LM78xx voltage regulator, if you connect the input and ground pins to the voltage source, without connecting the output pin will the regulator heat up?

The reason I'm asking is I'm curious whether the ground pin is necessary on it if the circuit will be close (if the output pin was connected of course) with just the input and output voltage?

Also an unrelated question about wiring a switch. Do you usually wire it to the positive (red) wire or to the black wire and why if it will work both ways?

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
Re: Simple Voltage Regulator and Wiring Question
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2014, 04:23:46 am »
I don't think it will heat up because most wall-warts have a regulator and they don't die without a load, but even if they did overheat they will cut out and reset.

The ground pin is required for them to work.  Afrotechmods has a good video on 78xx regulators.

The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2014, 04:27:40 am »
Three terminal voltage regulators like the 78xx have three terminals to be connected. The input terminal is connected to the supply voltage, the common terminal is connected to the common ground or reference rail, and the output terminal with the regulated voltage is connected to the load. Three terminals is the minimum number to achieve voltage regulation and the device will not work unless all terminals are connected as per the data sheet.