Author Topic: Single-phase motor control  (Read 10246 times)

Offline diegoterc3Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Single-phase motor control
« on: September 18, 2013, 06:44:53 pm »
Hi! I'm new to the forum and have seen Dave's videos. Reaaaally helpfull.
I'm a Mechatronics student from Perú (or Peru whatever) and trying to make my own POV Globe.

(inspiration video)
(Own video _ spanish but it shows my work)

Now. I have done 2 prototypes. My first one used only 16 RGB LEDs and worked fine. The second one uses 112 RGB LEDs and they worked! Saddly the mechanics where off and it destroyed because of balancing. Well leaving that apart I am trying to control the velocity of a single phased motor. I am making an IGBT (IRG4BC20W) bridge and have some problems with it.
To control the IGBT's I am using the driver IR2110 and have some trouble understanding how the bridge would work.
I understand that the Low-Output of the driver will drive the IGBT with 15V. But the problems start when I try to use the High-Output.
Here's my thinking. (I've attach a picture to show what I mean / I know it shows mosfets but think of them as IGBT's please)

When I activate the low input of the driver the low output gives 15V to the IGBT's gate and since the emitter of it is connected to ground the voltage differece between the gate and the emitter is +15V so it closes the circuit and lets the load to have a reference. Up to this part there is no problem.