Author Topic: SMD with Soldering Iron - Paste vs Wire?  (Read 14125 times)

Offline kalelTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
SMD with Soldering Iron - Paste vs Wire?
« on: September 25, 2017, 02:59:49 am »
While searching for whether someone is using solder paste with a soldering iron (or would it at all work), I found this video example:

I have no experience with soldering SMD parts, and I don't plan on doing that frequently, but for the odd case when I do (maybe daring to attempt replacing a relatively large SMD component on a board), and not having a heat gun, I'm curious about solder wire vs solder paste.

Offline KL27x

• Super Contributor
Re: SMD with Soldering Iron - Paste vs Wire?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 04:19:31 am »
I have yet to think up a place where I would want to use solder paste with an iron. And I spend an inordinate amount of time doing just that. Thinking up ways to use new soldering tools. In the vid where he's fooling around with the paste, he could have done the same thing with liquid rosin flux instead of gooey lead paste. Then load the 1mm BCF tip he was using with a little bead of solder (from solderwire) and touched it to the pads.

The 1mm BCF is excellent for point to point rework with jumper wires. It's overkill for assembling a board like that. 2mm BC or a 2.5-3 mm BCF would be more efficient and plenty small enough to maneuver on that board, IMO.

I struggle to find a place to use solderpaste, even though I have a reflow oven. It's a major pain to do stencil/reflow, even, unless you have lots of small components and are doing much more than a 1 off, IMO. You need a lot of flat space and a lot of preparation and cleanup.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 04:26:05 am by KL27x »

The following users thanked this post: kalel

Offline woody

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 07:17:43 am »