Author Topic: Solder noob here. Need help.  (Read 6657 times)

Offline FreedOhmTopic starter

Solder noob here. Need help.
« on: May 17, 2014, 12:53:13 am »
Hi! I am new to this site so please bear with me. I bought a new Weller 25 watt iron from ace not too long ago i was wondering how do i properly take care of it? I know that i need these materials.

Damp sponge
Flux
Brass sponge
Solder iron holder
Tip tinner(?)
sandpaper(Heard mixed feelings about this)
Solder braid
Stand
Anything else?

I know I need to tin the iron first when i first get a new tip, but then how do i take care of it? How do i tin the tip? When do i re-tin it? How do i know when to re-tin it or even if i have to re-tin it? I've heard of special grade tip cleaner only designed for Weller tips. Do i need this?

I have a lot of questions but really don't feel like wasting anymore of your guy's time. I really appreciate your time for reading this for i am a total noob at this. Thank you!

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
Re: Solder noob here. Need help.
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 12:57:31 am »
you don't need tip tinner or sandpaper.

for an iron that's constantly used, just apply an excess amount of solder when you're done (as in turning it off), it'll be the sacrificial coating to protect the tip.

sandpaper is for seriously damaged tips, not a point you should ever get to.
tip tinner is basically similar to solder paste with a much higher acid content, useful for tip revival due to the high acid content.
"This is a one line proof...if we start sufficiently far to the left."

Offline rexxar

• Frequent Contributor
    • Forever Tinkering
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2014, 01:08:51 am »
Once a tip gets to the point where you need sandpaper, the best thing is probably to just throw it away, its useful life is just about over then.