Author Topic: Soldering iron buying choice: watt vs. temperature?  (Read 10934 times)

Offline analogixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Soldering iron buying choice: watt vs. temperature?
« on: December 06, 2017, 01:51:58 pm »
Recently I've been running into unexpected problems when soldering (cold joints etc.) and wonder if my trusty old Japanese 25W Goot soldering iron has reached its end-of-life after a couple of decades (or more) use. I've changed its tip but that didn't help. To further confuse matters I had to buy a new roll of solder, but being quality branded (Multicore/Loctite) 0.71mm 60/40 leaded I don't think that's it (unfortunately the labelling of my old solder has long since gone).

I'm a hobbyist (building kits or solder ready made PCBs, all through-hole so far), soldering a bit now and then, and although I did consider a soldering station at some stage I'm leaning more towards a new quality soldering iron as I just can't justify the costs for something I don't use very often. And I don't like buying cheap stuff which breaks and needs to be thrown away after a little use either. So I'm looking into another Goot soldering iron, this time a PX-201 temperature adjustable (250-450 C) 70W type costing around US$ 43 plus shipping. There are also around 20 replacement tips to be found for it. Hakko has a similar type (FX-600) but it's (not surprisingly with that brand) more expensive.