Author Topic: Solenoid & Capacitor values?  (Read 6782 times)

Offline jingateTopic starter

• Contributor
Solenoid & Capacitor values?
« on: February 08, 2018, 09:46:51 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm a total newb around here tinkering with some simple electronics for model kit dioramas and the like and I need a little advice on choosing a solenoid and capacitor.

My current project is attempting to activate a small solenoid using a capacitor, powered by a regular 9v(PP3)  battery. Basically, I want to press a button, have the solenoid activate for a fraction of a second until the capacitor is empty and the plunger springs back, then when I release the switch, the capacitor charges again so that I can repeat the action. Essentially an electronic trigger that I can repeat activate as often as I want.

I know how to set it all up circuit-wise, but am having trouble choosing a suitable capacitor and solenoid, despite having tried to read up on it. (Maybe I started too much "in the middle", my skill level kind of ends with soldering LEDs!) I don't know what values to choose for those two components. The solenoid should ideally have a travel of at least 10mm- the only small ones I've found with that much travel draw upwards of 300-500mA. Can a regular 9v Battery even activate one of those? And if so, what type of capacitor is suitable? (It needs to charge almost instantly and have enough juice to activate the solenoid to fully retract and release. It doesn't have to "hold" it.)

If I have to go smaller, what solenoid/capacitor values should I aim for? (I've found a couple solenoids rated at around 130mA but they have very little travel.)

Here is one solenoid I've been looking at. (It's rated at 500mA current draw at 9 volts, 700mA at 12v and has a passive resistance of 15.6 ohm).