Author Topic: Spurious chip reset when a bit of metal makes contact  (Read 2136 times)

Offline TauIs2PiTopic starter

Spurious chip reset when a bit of metal makes contact
« on: March 08, 2018, 09:32:32 am »
I'm facing an issue where a chip resets whenever a bit of metal makes contact with any of the rails (ground, +3.3V or +5V) anywhere in the circuit. I should mention I'm a beginner in electronics (coming from the software world, analog issues have me stumped).

I'm getting the issue on a breadboard prototype I'm working on (the end goal is a specialized USB device and multi-port USB host). 5V comes from a USB cable through a USB hub (powered either from a floating power supply or a computer – doesn't make a difference). A linear voltage regulator provides 3.3 volts for a PIC18F microcontroller, a 74HC driving a 7-segment LED display (for quick debugging) and the evaluation board of the MAX3421E.

The MAX3421E is the one that's resetting. I initially found the issue by connecting a USB cable from the evaluation board to a device: it would reset whenever the plug would touch the device's receptacle.

What I know
  • The MAX3421E only does a soft reset, not a full power on reset. (I know this because only some register bits are cleared. This is the same behavior as if I the RES pin became low.)
  • The microcontroller does not reset.
  • The 74HC retains it's latched output (doesn't reset either).
  • Sometimes it takes more than one try to make it happen. For example it is harder to reproduce near the voltage regulator.
  • It doesn't reset if I make contact with my fingers.
My current theory

The only thing I can think of that would explain the symptoms is that, somehow, the voltage on the MAX3421E's RES pin briefly drops (I don't have an oscilloscope to test this). Yet the entire chip stays on (wouldn't it's Vcc drops too if RES did? both are connected to 3.3V).

Demonstration