Author Topic: Stereo dB to wattage  (Read 4943 times)

Offline knight_rider1977Topic starter

• I won't stop learning till I'm dead!!
    • Element 14 page
Stereo dB to wattage
« on: May 13, 2015, 07:37:49 pm »
I just finished watching blog #49 covering Decibels.  Using certain formulas has always been a struggle for me even though I have been working with computers since 1986 and started programming a Commodore 64 in the 3rd grade.

The information somewhat makes sense but I would like to understand an application to better understand the relation between dB and wattage.

I had the stereo in my truck in a sound competition a couple years ago.  The sound meter registered 113 dB.  What/How would I go about converting that to wattage?  Would this use a variation on the P=10*log(p1/p2) or am I totally out of the ball park on this one.

Thanks,
Travis Vaughn, M.S. Computer Information Systems

If first you don't succeed, Solider it again :-)

Offline wemme

• Regular Contributor
Re: Stereo dB to wattage
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 07:55:38 pm »
Sound is another kettle of fish.
0db is the point of human hearing. So 112dB is that many dB from that point.
Keep in mind audio has different weightings for example dBa and dBc.
I think it is dBa is weighted to the frequency response of the human ear.
Where as dBc is flat at the lower frequency.
Regards
Bart
« Last Edit: May 13, 2015, 11:24:26 pm by wemme »

Offline Sebastian

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2015, 07:59:53 pm »
The dB you are talking about is the sound pressure level. The dB in the formula is for calculating the ratio between two power levels.
The sound pressure level dB is also a ratio, I think in reference to some constant level.
But you can't calculate the sound pressure with just the power you are putting into your speaker, or vice versa. I am not an expert with audio stuff, but I think there should be some relationship between power and sound pressure in the datasheet of the speaker.