Author Topic: Student Multimeter? Extech EX330?  (Read 11935 times)

Offline clatellaTopic starter

Student Multimeter? Extech EX330?
« on: September 10, 2013, 05:48:08 pm »
Hello All,

Student looking for some opinions on this meter please, (it is an Extech EX330)

http://www.amazon.com/Extech-EX330-Autoranging-Multimeter-Thermometer/dp/B000EX0AE4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1378834084&sr=8-1&keywords=extech+multimeter

My biggest concern is build quality i suppose. As i mentioned I am an engineering student, I dont expect to be dealing with tremendous amounts of power as an electrician would.

Thanks,
Chris

Offline clifford

• Regular Contributor
    • www.clifford.at
Re: Student Multimeter? Extech EX330?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 06:35:27 pm »
Watch EEVblog #91 - $50 Multimeter Shootout - Extech EX330, Amprobe AM220, Elenco, Vichy VC99, GS Pro-50:

There even is a link to a comparison sheet (pdf) in the video description.

Offline Wytnucls

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 06:59:33 pm »
Not a bad little meter, but things have evolved a bit since that shoot-out.
For about the same price, you could get the new UT139C which has a few extra features: 6000 count, true RMS, Max/Min, VFD, better input protection, a separate mA jack and an LCD with a backlight.

http://www.amazon.com/UNI-T-UT139C-Digital-Multimeters-Temperature/dp/B00E3PLSUE
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 07:03:53 pm by Wytnucls »

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 07:19:39 pm »
Everyone seems to forget certain information when asking questions like this. Where do you live? This is needed to help recommend something with local pricing and availability. What is your budget? This is needed so somene doesn't recommend something you can't afford.