Author Topic: Suggestion on variation of the 858D to get?  (Read 1754 times)

Offline solarityTopic starter

• Contributor
Suggestion on variation of the 858D to get?
« on: July 10, 2018, 04:55:47 pm »
I am new to this hobby and I came by the videos posted on youtube. It is great content and it amazing to see how this black magic art is unraveled into science. I also noticed I am being corrected by people I know about the proper pronunciation of "Solder". I never really thought about it much, though a coworker and I started discussing it and I guess my brain was reprogrammed from saying "Sodder" to "Solder" by watching so many of the video blogs. We looked up and found the US pronunciation is different than apparently how the rest of the world pronounces "Solder".

Anyway after trying to do it myself w/o any guidance, I started to watch some videos and would like to get more into it. I am playing on making a small lab/bench with a Hako 888D and 858D. For the 858D I do see some concerns about the fuse not installed properly and that I should check to see if it is properly grounded. I also see there are a lot of variations of the different types/styles of 858D. I see some have a modular connector for the heat gun and some have different fuses laid out. I know I will need the 110v version as I am in the US. Are there really that many variations or this this a successful knock off that has been knocked off by many other companies?

Offline metrologist

• Super Contributor
Re: Suggestion on variation of the 858D to get?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 07:28:09 pm »
I just bought the cheapest one - and I checked the wiring on mine was very good and properly grounded/fused.

Offline iainwhite

• Supporter
  • Measure twice...
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 10:39:33 pm »
We looked up and found the US pronunciation is different than apparently how the rest of the world pronounces "Solder".