Author Topic: Super Nintendo - Unique problem  (Read 17206 times)

Offline RaellzTopic starter

• Contributor
Super Nintendo - Unique problem
« on: January 03, 2016, 03:46:12 pm »
I've been trying to troubleshoot a Super Nintendo Motherboard all night and after replacing all the caps, testing for shorts and reading a lot of forum posts I decided to lift Pin 4 on the lockout chip and then tie it to ground. This has worked, to a degree. One of my games work, while another does not. When using the one that does work, the system updates the video about once every 2 seconds or so making title screens take half an hour. The sound usually works and is not slowed down at all.

I put some of the original caps back in after testing them on the multimeter. I'm no expert, but I'm wondering if it is a bad cap still since... and forgive this comparison... but if you change the capacitors in a 555 circuit then you change the cycle of the output, such as blinking an LED faster or slower. I only got this far after lifting pin #4 on the lockout chip so I don't know what my next step should be.

Has anyone heard of this problem or know how I can resolve it? Thanks.  :-+

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Super Nintendo - Unique problem
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 03:55:13 pm »
what was the failt in the first place ? caps these days won't be controlling clock spedds or anything like that. It will be a crystal clock.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2016, 03:59:20 pm »
what was the failt in the first place ? caps these days won't be controlling clock spedds or anything like that. It will be a crystal clock.

Ah, I forgot to mention that =/ It was a black screen with no static and no sound. The signal was picked up by my TV, but it went straight to black.

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2016, 04:03:18 pm »