Author Topic: Switching a relay with 2N7000 and Arduino  (Read 19293 times)

Offline denemetorTopic starter

Switching a relay with 2N7000 and Arduino
« on: June 25, 2016, 02:38:12 am »
Hi all,

I have recently started playing with Arduino and am hoping to learn a little bit about electronics. I have no formal background in electronics so if I sound clueless to you, that is probably why.

To learn about transistors and relays, I have decided to build a simple thermostat. I'm using a temperature sensor and an ADC chip to read the values from the sensor. That part of the circuit is complete. When ambient temperature drops below the set point, I would like to be able to energize the coil of the relay and turn on the heating element. For this purpose, I am using the parts below:

I haven't selected this parts purposefully. They are just what I have at the moment.

Here is the sketch of the circuit:

The problem is that this setup does not work. When I alter the state of the pin of the Arduino, I don't hear the relay clicking. I have tried the relay just by applying 5V to coil and it works. I have also confirmed that the transistor works fine simply by connecting to a LED. Any suggestions? What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your time.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2016, 02:42:58 am by denemetor »

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Switching a relay with 2N7000 and Arduino
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2016, 02:44:54 am »
I would say check that you dont have source and drain flipped, and that your arduino is outputting greater than 3V, (the gate threshold voltage)

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2016, 02:48:26 am »
There is always some voltage drop between drain and source, see datasheet page 2. See also the Rds (on) which is a bit high for this mosfet, at around 2 ohms