Author Topic: Switching power supply Y capacitor between primary and secondary ground  (Read 10145 times)

Offline pplaninskyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi there,

first of all - I would like to say that I am having very basic knowledge on switching power supplies. I am just a newbie on this topic.

I just found an old DELL laptop charger and I decided to try to understand how it works.
I am proud that I managed by myself to understand what is doing what in this power supply (of course not in details, but I wasn't completely lost.)
I started reverse engineering it, but then I found somebody have already done this.
Here is the schematic:
http://320volt.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/schema-circuit-dell-pa12-19v-notebook-adapter-smps-1d07012-3-34a.png

I would like to ask if someone can explain in details the role of the capacitor and the 40M resistor between primary and secondary ground.
I know it has to do with filtering of hi frequency noise - but I'd like to know more details about it.

Thanks in advance!

Offline katzohki

• Frequent Contributor
    • My Blog
Re: Switching power supply Y capacitor between primary and secondary ground
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 05:32:28 pm »
Here's a couple resources that might help explain:
http://powerblog.vicorpower.com/2013/06/what-are-y-capacitors/

http://www.kemet.com/Lists/Filestore/EvoxRifaRFIandSMD.pdf

X and Y capacitors have to be safety rated.

Offline jitter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2015, 05:42:20 am »
Hi there,

first of all - I would like to say that I am having very basic knowledge on switching power supplies. I am just a newbie on this topic.

I just found an old DELL laptop charger and I decided to try to understand how it works.
I am proud that I managed by myself to understand what is doing what in this power supply (of course not in details, but I wasn't completely lost.)
I started reverse engineering it, but then I found somebody have already done this.