Author Topic: Reprogram an onboard Nordic Semiconductor. Nordic’s nRF51822 Bluetooth SoC  (Read 1922 times)

Offline vdiallonortTopic starter

Hello,

I am not an electronic engineer but i still have basic skill ( did my bachelor in Telecommunication ) and I would like to know how hard it will be to reprogram an  Nordic Semiconductor. Nordic’s nRF51822 Bluetooth SoC that is inside my Basis Peak watch.
I like to connect to other remote sensor and create my own feature. I am guessing it will be by far different than when I reprogram my onboard Arduino. But does there is interface I can use the same way than with my Atmega chip ?

Vincent

Offline jnz

• Frequent Contributor
The chips are easy to reprogram, as iirc, nothing locks the Jtag out. Although I have no idea if your board makes this easy.

But what you are saying is you want to add your own feature, but you'll need to entirely start over with the firmware. You'll need to get the Nordic SDK and a development enviroment, chart out their hardware, make the headers for that board, and start programming.

You'd be doing almost all the work to create a marketable Nordic powered BLE device. The interface is the absolute last concern IMO.

Offline vdiallonortTopic starter

Thanks,not sure how far i want to go, for now it's only studying and the pure love of learning.I am "just" ( can be a lot of work ) looking to get the raw information from the sensor and send them by Bluetooth to my computer.But since I will not be able to de-compile the existing firmware,I will have to find out how all the sensors works,protocol and how they are wired.

Vincent

Offline Galaxyrise

• Frequent Contributor
Did you ever give this a go? Now that that peak is being recalled and support discontinued, a hack like this would be be the only way to continue using it.
I am but an egg

Offline electrostorm