Author Topic: TDGC2 2KVA Variable Transformer  (Read 3407 times)

Offline MenicusTopic starter

TDGC2 2KVA Variable Transformer
« on: August 21, 2014, 02:27:01 pm »
Hello, and might I begin by congratulating David Jones on a most entertaining and informative youtube channel.

I have purchased a variable transformer from a local electronics supply store and I am fairly new to electronics and I have been unable to find the answers to my questions on the internet.

I have watched a few videos on the type of variac I have but cannot grasp them well enough to understand the wiring diagram on the variac I bought.  The diagram and wiring interface is precisely the same as the one found at this link but I doubt it is the same manufacturer:
http://johsun.en.alibaba.com/product/504209966-209804644/TDGC2_2KVA_Variable_Transformer.html

Could someone please either explain how to wire this thing or point to a resource where I can learn what I need.  My applications will be very rough, no fine electronics will be attached to this as I suspect it is fairly low quality and I don't trust it.  The unit I bought looks exactly the same as the above link and I suspect it is a china knockoff of some sort or another.

Thank you for your time and effort

Offline German_EE

• Super Contributor
Re: TDGC2 2KVA Variable Transformer
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 04:40:43 pm »
Sorry but I do not see a schematic diagram in the link you provided.

Please see this photograph:

https://www.uk420.com/boards/uploads/monthly_06_2011/post-60203-0-14675200-1307887378.jpg

Here live would be connected to A, neutral connected to C, neutral out connected to C and live out connected to E. There are other tricks that you can do by connecting to the various taps but as you are a beginner here I've started off simple.
Should you find yourself in a chronically leaking boat, energy devoted to changing vessels is likely to be more productive than energy devoted to patching leaks.

Warren Buffett