Author Topic: Testing RF power transistors  (Read 12947 times)

Offline RaffTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Testing RF power transistors
« on: September 12, 2013, 10:52:48 am »
G'day everyone,

I have been given an old General Electric UHF 70 watt power amplifier (PA) module to try and repair.

The fault is very low output power, the thing should draw around 15 amps, but barely draws 2, and puts out about 2 watts for 1 watt in. It looks like the finals, and drivers are all faulty, or at least damaged and now have low gain.

It is full of GE branded transistors but Ive found a list of replacements that should work.

My question is, can a RF power transistor like say a Motorola MRF646 go low gain? That is fail without just going short circuit like say audio power transistors?

My background is in audio type equipment, I haven't done much RF stuff let alone high powered UHF goodies.

Thanks guys,
Raff
« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 12:13:26 am by Raff »

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: Testing RF power transistors
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 03:35:33 pm »
I would've thought any BJT can go low gain, from over.reverse voltage.

Offline ElectroIrradiator

• Frequent Contributor
  • More analog than digital.
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 04:36:10 pm »
Some/most RF power transistors are comprised of a number of individual transistors run in parallel on a single chip die. Each transistor is complete with its own on-die emitter resistor, to ensure the various transistors share the total collector current.

It is quite possible to blow only part of the transistors, giving the symptoms you describe.

Another thing to check, is if it is a linear amplifier. If it is, then it should have a bias control, which may be broken or set incorrectly. That could also result in similar symptoms.