Author Topic: The $250 electronics lab, a suggested setup for beginners.  (Read 42391 times)

Offline TheEternalHermit

Re: The $250 electronics lab, a suggested setup for beginners.
« Reply #25 on: July 23, 2013, 06:54:13 am »
I found myself in a similar situation I'm completely new to electronics but did my best to build myself a nice little lab I think I'll be mostly well equipped to be able to start putting some schematics together. I managed to do it for $375.

Here's how I spent my money (lot's of luck) prices include shipping, I got it from ebay unless otherwise noted:
1. $59 Fluke 177 DMM (used, very worn)
2. $66 HP 1741a Oscilloscope(found it locally)
3. $48 ECI 20500C PowerSupply
4. $30 Yihua Soldering Iron from HobbyKing
5. $79 A huge variety of components from Futurelec (caps, resistors, etc.)
6. $28 Wire, desoldering wick from Allelectronics.
7. $14 10pc set of tips for my soldering iron
8. $31 Kester 331 Organic Core Solder 63/37 .015" 1 lb. Spool 24-6337-6422
9. ~$20 At walmart on needlenose pliers, pliers, wire strippers, tweezers.

Longer explanation:
1. 59$ shipped for a used Fluke 177 multimeter, it has writing in permanent marker on the sides, and is missing a battery door, but it has probes and works, haven't been able to test the accuracy of it, but what the heck 60 bucks for a fluke!

2. I still have to pick it up, but it shows a trace, they said it's working and it came from a college lab, fingers crossed.

3. Still has to arrive, but it's a lab power supply, that costed as much to ship as the unit itself, the package weighs 17lbs so this thing must be heavy duty, you can still by a similar model for a similar price (the 20500D) I believe they're still available.
See this thread for more info on this obscure unit: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hot-deal-on-a-used-variable-dc-power-supply/