Author Topic: The $250 electronics lab, a suggested setup for beginners.  (Read 42340 times)

Offline LightagesTopic starter

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
The $250 electronics lab, a suggested setup for beginners.
« on: July 22, 2013, 08:39:44 am »
So as an answer to Dave's lab equipment video I thought I would set myself a challenge to make a very useable lab for under $100. Sorry can't be done. So I went for the minimum I would consider as a well equipped enough lab and it can come under $250 delivered to your door!

Now I know that there are many people who would not go near www.dx.com but I have had only a couple of less than acceptable things from them and they have always compensated for my problems. They sell some relatively good stuff, some OK stuff, and some outright junk. I hope to guide the beginner here to buying a complete lab from at least OK stuff from them. I have not touched everything I am going to list but I am fairly confident that it won't be junk.

What is my idea of a minimum lab for a beginner? Well it might be a bit higher than what some people started out with but the price is not that high. If you exclude one of the items that people might not think is necessary, a USB oscilloscope, then you end up with much less than $180 shipped to your door. If you omit the second DMM, then it drops to less than $160 shipped to your door. If you want to drop the USB scope, then that is up to you. I sincerely believe that the second DMM is very much worth having. Here is the list in links to the dx.com listing:

http://dx.com//p/128293   Uni-T UT136B DMM with capacitance                $20.80
http://dx.com//p/168367   Uni-T UT136C DMM with temperature               $21.70
http://dx.com//p/1874       Kada 936D soldering station                            $45.70
http://dx.com//p/39508     0-15V variable power supply                            $43.90
http://dx.com//p/107293   Helping hands with magnifier                           $11.60