Author Topic: Thermal Fuse for oscillating fan  (Read 14506 times)

Offline BayouBoyTopic starter

• Contributor
Thermal Fuse for oscillating fan
« on: July 14, 2018, 11:37:56 pm »
Hi,
I'm new at this fan troubleshooting and wondering if I can help help with a couple of issues.  Fan stop working, but blade turns freely manually.  Some quick research points to either a thermal fuse or capacitor.  I wanted to be sure the attached is in fact the thermal fuse.  Is there a way to verify if it needs changing before ordering the part?  Also, would I need to find one with the exact printing as on the photo?  Any help would be appreciated.  Not sure of the fan brand name.. It's a pedestal type.

Offline innkeeper

• Supporter
Re: Thermal Fuse for oscillating fan
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2018, 02:34:16 am »
thats a non resettable thermal fuse by aupo,  aupo is still in business, and the current model is the a4-f if I am not mistaken
pretty easy to find, even on eBay and other outlets, and are really cheap.

basically, the 2a is the current handling capacity, so certainly don't put in a 1a version, and the 130c is the temperature at which it cuts off and id sticks to that temperature.

if you wanted to get fancy you could use a thermal switch, so once it cools down it would close again and you would not have to take it back apart to replace it.

i happen to have a bag of 130C thermal switches in my parts bin, good for up to 8A at 250V .   Id be happy to throw one in an envelope and send it to you if it would be of help.
hard to tell if it would fit
Hobbyist and a retired engineer and possibly a test equipment addict, though, searching for the equipment to test for that.

The following users thanked this post: BayouBoy

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2018, 02:42:12 am »