Author Topic: Timer for light  (Read 1375 times)

Offline dekiblueTopic starter

Timer for light
« on: January 10, 2018, 10:54:28 pm »
I'm not sure if here is the right place to post this question but since I'm a beginner this seems like right forum group.

My wife constantly forgets to switch off the bathroom light, it drives me crazy  |O

So I'd like to make/buy a timer that will switch the light off automatically after 2 minutes (or adjustable amount of minutes).
I assume that in this scenario I'll have to put a push button switch.

Any ideas on how to make this (or where to buy it)?

Thanks

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Timer for light
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 10:56:37 pm »
I don't know if this applies to your country, but here in virtually any hardware store you can buy occupancy sensors that install in place of a light switch and turn the light off after a period of time. You can also get timers intended for bathroom vent fans that could just as easily be used to control a light. In either case you should be sure that the delay is long enough that the light doesn't shut off while you're in the shower or on the can.

The following users thanked this post: dekiblue

Offline ConKbot

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2018, 11:38:39 pm »
It looks like the Dominican Republic uses 120V 60Hz, if the boxes are the same dimension as US/canada electrical fittings, something like

https://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-FD6HW-6-Hour-Spring-Loaded-Auto-off/dp/B003A3ZUCW?th=1&psc=1 may be of interest, they can be had anywhere from 30 minute to 6 hr maximum.  You can also get variations with pushbutton that default to a certain amount of time, or can be overridden.