Author Topic: To fix or buy a new scope?  (Read 10819 times)

Offline adrianblackTopic starter

• Contributor
To fix or buy a new scope?
« on: May 28, 2012, 07:28:36 pm »
Hey guys -- I need some advice. I'm a beginner hobbyist and currently own a BK Precision 1479B Scope. (30mhz dual channel analog) I bought it off Ebay about 10 years ago and when I got it, it worked flawlessly. A few years after getting it, it went into storage (in a closet) because of space constraints of where I was living. I've since moved to a big place and setup all my test gear on a workbench, but it seems the old switches are now rather dirty and things are quite touchy. It's hard to get the B channel working at all without a lot of fiddling with the controls and the A channel is also flaky now. What's frustrating is while working it may just stop working and it's hard to know if it's my circuit or the scope that is acting up. Tapping on the controls scope knobs or turning them back and forth can get things working again

The sweep time and volts/cm controls are the main culprits, but I think some of the toggles are also now dirty.... The previous owner was a a smoker too (as it really smelled like smoke when I got it) which probably didn't help.

So advice on what I should do. Should I just replace this old unit or should I try to clean it up? I have the Instruction manual and schematic for it, but reading through them there is nothing about cleaning - -just some calibration stuff.

And will other old analog scopes have the same issue? Or are brands like Tektronics much more robust? Or go digital? I'm just a hobbyist and it's more just for playing around than anything....

Thanks!

Offline DavidDLC

• Frequent Contributor
Re: To fix or buy a new scope?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 07:34:12 pm »
I will try to fix it, and if I liked the fix I will keep it.