Author Topic: Tool Selection - Scopes for specific needs  (Read 5391 times)

Offline BenKenobiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Tool Selection - Scopes for specific needs
« on: September 20, 2017, 02:28:59 pm »
So yes I'm a beginner in the electronics world - well I've been playing for a couple of years now via Arduino etc which has led me here - largely through watching a lot of Dave's content. I'm probably about to ask a question that will have all you experts sighing ..

I have though developed specific interest areas and actively pursue robotics and remote control, I also dabble with telemetry and the collection of situational awareness data via the likes of bluetooth, WiFi, 2.4 Ghz and other frequencies but I need to get more serious, I need to be able to inspect and debug at a serial protocol level, I also want to be able to see what 'sensors' are really doing to determine whether they are the issue or my coding skills, I also want to be able to probe what a sensor is seeing vs what it is encoding,  motor noise, RF interference, harmonics and wire borne interference from connected systems etc etc.

So I decided it is time to buy an oscilloscope, there are so many, most will fulfill 90% of my requirements but so few even discuss serial analytics and protocol decoding, I really don't want to spend hour upon hour tallying peaks and troughs and working out who is saying what - if I must then so be it but I'd rather not.

I'd like to be able to focus on specific devices on say an I2C or SPI interface, but also see if some device is talking out of turn or not handshaking properly to isolate timing issues / line capacitance etc etc.  - aka an oscilloscope. As an example I have a very large helicopter, the RC receiver also transmits telemetry data back to the ground - but the RF interferes with the onboard flight controller quite badly - so somebody isn't shielded, I've confirmed that the RF noise is on the wires but not by anything other than trial and error.