Author Topic: Trace separation - when and why does it matter?  (Read 2118 times)

Offline cprobertson1Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • 2M0XTS / MM6XKC
Trace separation - when and why does it matter?
« on: February 23, 2018, 09:05:29 am »
Good Morning folks, I'm afraid I've got a bit of a noob question here!

I've just finished laying out a board (a small multipurpose rate/counter module - just an RTC/uC with some settable filters and debounce depending on the frequency of the input pulses - might add SD card support for logging at some point as well)

Now my noobie question is simple: when and why does track spacing matter?

Off the top of my head I came up with a few reasons where it might matter: but what I'm worried about are the reasons that I'm unaware of - have I missed anything? Are there any issues with my existing points? While I'm by no means a professional - I thought it might still be a useful learning experience ;

-PCB manufacturing limitations - even the best manufacturer can only reliably provide separation down to a certain size!

-Isolation of high voltages - don't want a high voltage rail right next to my logic rail!

-Avoiding/reducing RFI - don't want a high-frequency input/output right next to my DC reference!

Thanks in anticipation folks! Hopefully the question wasn't too daft ;)

Online paulca

• Super Contributor
Re: Trace separation - when and why does it matter?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 09:51:25 am »
Noobie to Noobie I was reading in Small signal audio design book about track capacitance.

If you think about it, putting two peices of metal close together and putting a charge onto one of them creates a potential between them, this is the same thing as a capacitor.  It is actually measurable, but very small.

Also the electromagnetic field is three dimensional, so if it's actually an issue for you the advice was to put a ground plain either side, requiring a 4 layer PCB!

GND plain
Signal plain
GND plain
Power plain