Author Topic: Transformer Question  (Read 6232 times)

Offline ASHUTopic starter

• Contributor
Transformer Question
« on: July 04, 2015, 05:49:44 pm »
Hi,
I am new to electronics and was trying to make something( shown in the picture attached). I know there are things like capacitors and resistors, etc missing in the diagram, so sorry about that.
My question is I have two or more different switches feeding power to the transformer, so is their any way through which i can know as to which switch was  turned on or rather more specific as to which line is providing power to my transformer.
I their something which I can add to my circuit to know that, so  my 74HC165 register can read as to which swithc is on/off

Offline Hideki

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Transformer Question
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2015, 06:16:07 pm »
It's a strange question. Current needs to run in a loop to do anything useful, so both switches need to be turned on to power the transformer.

(Unless you plan use the ground connection as the return path? Very bad idea.)

Offline Cliff Matthews

• Supporter
    • General Repair and Support
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2015, 06:32:29 pm »
Yes, power needs a return path. But the fact the 74HC165 will work at all IS because the regulator is getting power, so why?

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2015, 07:26:50 pm »
Basically I just want to know the state of the 5 different switch (on or off) so that i can send it back to my micro-controller (as 1 or 0) so how do i do it? If i connect everything to the transformer then even if a single switch is on, it will tell me than all switches are on. how do i divide them? Or do i need to use different transformer for different switches?

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2015, 07:36:00 pm »