Author Topic: Trying to activate car park barrier system with Raspberry Pi  (Read 4929 times)

Offline huseyinergisiTopic starter

Hello

I am a student in the UK working on a Nuffield Research project.

I am currently working on a Raspberry Pi ANPR (Number Plate recognition system), the current barrier system is manually controlled by pressing a switch on a phone panel. I am looking to connect the Raspberry Pi to the switch and activate it using the GPIO when necessary.

Now what I have done is, I have investigated the switch and it seems easy enough to activate. By the looks of it, by pressing the button you are completing a circuit which is opening the barrier.

Here is what the circuit board and button looks like:

Now from what I believe by connecting the two sides of the switch (the metal screw holes) I will be able to open the barrier? I want to check this with you guys before I go ahead and end up breaking something. If its as simple as connecting the two sides I can connect the Raspberry Pi and complete the circuit on correct detection of a number plate and open the barrier using the GPIO cables.

If someone could let me know if that will work or even what these switches are called I can investigate further. If anyone needs I can post more pictures.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2015, 09:55:06 am by huseyinergisi »

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
Re: Trying to activate car park barrier system with Raspberry Pi
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2015, 09:58:30 am »
aww, based on the topic i was hoping for some sort of a hack using a Pi that lets cars get into the car park for free.   :-DD
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2015, 10:01:18 am »
Oh, that would have been cool

My project is not so helpful   :-DD

Online McBryce

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2015, 10:45:10 am »