Author Topic: Trying to fix my monitor  (Read 2979 times)

Offline Cyborg666Topic starter

Trying to fix my monitor
« on: June 27, 2013, 11:53:06 am »
Hi there!

I'm quite new to electronics, and Dave's video inspired me to try to fix my old LCD monitor.

I've tried a few things but now I'm stuck, so I figured I'll ask here :)
It has an external power supply, and it seems to function. I measure the voltage it says to give out, and no caps looks damaged in it.
When I plug it in to the monitor the backlight (fluorescent tubes) only lights up for about 1/3 of a second accompanied with a fizzing sound. Then it goes black.
I can't see any physical damage to the tubes or any blown caps.

Any ideas what might be wrong, or how I should go about finding out?

Offline digsys

• Supporter
    • DIGSYS
Re: Trying to fix my monitor
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 11:58:28 am »
Does it work off an external DC Supply? I notice a DC socket. Do you have a power supply with V and I adjustments?
IF so, unplug the LCD / Back-light etc and see what the Power section draws - then plug in each "module" and recheck.
Somehow, you need to isolate where the problem is - which MAY be a shorted component. Start with that.
Hello <tap> <tap> .. is this thing on?

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2013, 12:03:10 pm »
Yes, it uses an external DC supply. Unfortunately I don't have a power supply, only a multimeter. Should I try to hook it up to measure the current?

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2013, 12:05:40 pm »
Oh and btw, I've unplugged the LCD screen and the button panel, with no difference.
When I unplug the last board you see to the right of the photo, I don't get anything happening with the tubes...

Offline dfmischler

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2013, 12:25:41 pm »