Author Topic: Trying to measure IV curve of solar cell in nanoamp range, does my circuit work?  (Read 5946 times)

Offline NurdRageTopic starter

• Contributor
I've got a tiny solar cell operating low-light conditions and i tried to measure the current with my multimeter but it was below 1uA. Since i wanted to plot the current versus voltage i made a circuit i've included below.

Now i'm not an electrical engineer so i was wondering if anyone can let me know if my circuit actually works the way i think it does.

The battery, the resistors (R3 & R4) and the potentiometer (R1) form a voltage source and divider that lets me impose a desired voltage across the solar panel.

I don't have an ammeter that can measure nanoamps so I'm using a 1 megohm resistor (R2) and voltmeter (M1). A nanoamp going through a 1 megohm resistor should give me a 1mV voltage that i can read off the voltmeter. Since the voltmeter (M1) has a 10 megohm internal resistance i calibrate the device first by measuring the combined resistance of R2 and M1 with an ohmmeter. I got a total shunt resistance value of 892 K ohms. I divide the shunt voltage by the shunt resistance (892k) to get the shunt current.

Now to measure the voltage across the solar cell I use M2. It's connected outside the  ammeter circuit (M1 & R2) because i found the current draw of the voltmeter (M2) (due to its internal resistance) was enough to throw off the results of ammeter if i connect it to the solar cell only. I know the way I set it up to gives me the voltage of the ammeter and solar cell together but I correct for that mathematically by subtracting (or in my case adding, since i connected it backwards) the ammeter voltage and the total voltage.

To get my IV curve i sweep the potentiometer across the voltage range of the solar cell and read off the voltages from the voltmeters. Then i perform the necessary mathematical conversions.