Low Cost PCB's Low Cost Components

Author Topic: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?  (Read 1912 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline julian1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: au
  • http://blog.julian1.io
Using a 9V battery as dummy DC source (source doesn't matter here )
 

My 1054Z shows a clean 200mV peak to peak signal at 100MHz,



It's AC coupled, timebase is 5ns. The factory probes are definitely set to 10x.

The scope is 50MHz unhacked - so I'm somwhat surprised it even shows a clean signal.

I've tried swapping probes, and swapping channel inputs with the same result. Input is hiZ (there's no physical 50ohm termination).

Turning on the 20MHz BW filter and the signal drops to 70-80mV p2p.

The only thing I can of is a couple of local FM radio transmitters in this area - 100.9 and 99.3. Would that make sense?
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 12:50:24 PM by julian1 »
 

Online ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3462
  • Country: us
  • I informed you thusly
    • Personal site
Re: Trying to understand1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 12:11:20 PM »
What happens if you short the probe to ground? And what happens if you short the input BNC connector?
Alex
 

Offline julian1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: au
  • http://blog.julian1.io
Re: Trying to understand1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2016, 12:19:47 PM »
short the probe to ground and it's there

unplug the probe from the scope and it's gone.

short the bnc on the scope with a short piece of wire (5cm) and me touching it and it's there.

short the bnc with a bnc adapter and it's gone (edit actually can still trigger if increase vert-resolution one step) . but if i move my hand near (but not touching) it appears.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 12:22:41 PM by julian1 »
 

Offline julian1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: au
  • http://blog.julian1.io
Re: Trying to understand1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2016, 12:26:47 PM »
I've changed vertical resolution, but it's still there. And more pronounced when move hand near.


Online ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3462
  • Country: us
  • I informed you thusly
    • Personal site
Re: Trying to understand1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2016, 12:28:24 PM »
Hm. Well, I guess it is possible that this is FM radio, and your body acts as an antenna.

In absence of other ideas, I'd try to record a chunk of it and try to demodulate it to see what happens. You may want to hack the scope for bigger memory depth for this :)
Alex
 

Online DimitriP

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 792
  • Country: us
  • "Best practices" are best not practiced.© Dimitri
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2016, 01:03:16 PM »
A) Also get one of these and check your wall plugs ... https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71AGESwD7kL._AC_UL320_SR240,320_.jpg

B) and last but not least use different wall outlets (in different rooms).
C) unplug your TV and router and computer(s) and try again

 

   Don't be limited by your own imagination, because sometimes "it" means what you think it means. 
 
The following users thanked this post: julian1

Offline BrianHG

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1071
  • Country: ca
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2016, 06:39:25 PM »
Have you tried a FM radio next to the scope with the antenna really small or off.  Are you getting a blank dead carrier, mute audio, at that frequency?
__________
BrianHG.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10621
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Sparky Lab's
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2016, 07:29:23 PM »
You will see whatever frequencies can be represented with 1GS/s, all the 50MHz does is attenuate it.
The µCurrent has landed in Europe and now also selling Probe Master probes: http://www.simonselectronics.co.uk New stock now in.
 

Offline julian1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: au
  • http://blog.julian1.io
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2016, 12:56:51 PM »
I have tested the outlets for wiring issues, and tried moving the scope to use different wall outlets around the house.

The common variable seems to be that in rooms towards the front of the house - in view of a known RF mast some kilometers away - the signal is very strong. In other rooms towards the rear its only just detectable.

Offline cdev

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2136
  • Country: aq
  • [Personal Text]
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2016, 12:58:44 PM »
What you are seeing is FM radio, you can do the same with an RTLSDR (rtl2832 and r820t based USB TV dongle) and SDR software. (a poor man's spectrum analyzer) Your input is likely picking up a strong signal as it is intended to.
"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."
 

Offline julian1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Country: au
  • http://blog.julian1.io
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2016, 01:17:54 PM »
I've got a 820t2 currently serving a media center, but purchased with the intention of playing with SDR! Just never had the time to play with it yet.

I wonder if higher MHz rated probes would provide better insulation? It's quite annoying in turning the trace into a thick band at much slower time divisions.

Offline tggzzz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5592
  • Country: gb
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2016, 07:35:34 PM »
I wonder if higher MHz rated probes would provide better insulation? It's quite annoying in turning the trace into a thick band at much slower time divisions.

Unlikely.

Set the 20MHz bandwith limit.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Gliding aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less
 

Offline cdev

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2136
  • Country: aq
  • [Personal Text]
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2017, 09:57:58 AM »
You're seeing what is there, so your equipment is doing it's job.

A small loop, say 5 cm is useful as an antenna for locating the source of nearby RF signals.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2017, 10:00:19 AM by cdev »
"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."
 

Offline Gary350z

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 112
  • Country: us
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2017, 01:22:59 AM »
I get the local FM radio station (99.9MHz) on my scope, but at a much smaller amplitude.
See my post here: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/radio-stations-detected-on-oscilloscope/msg965930/#msg965930
 

Offline cdev

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2136
  • Country: aq
  • [Personal Text]
Re: Trying to understand 1054Z with 200mV p2p noise/signal at 100MHz ?
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2017, 07:58:46 AM »


What's All This Scope Probe Stuff, Anyhow?




The Bob Pease show.
"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf