Author Topic: Ultra fancy resistor divider  (Read 5008 times)

Offline garykTopic starter

Ultra fancy resistor divider
« on: December 28, 2015, 05:59:04 pm »
Hello everyone, hope this qualifies for the beginner category.  :-\  I've got lots of experience in circuit design, but virtually none involving high voltages or negative voltages.

I'm trying to design a dynode control circuit for a Hamamatsu photo multiplier tube (PMT).  My objective is to be able to adjust the PMT gain over a wide range, by increasing or decreasing the number of enabled dynodes.
You'll see by referring to p.98 (figure 5-20) of http://www.hamamatsu.com/resources/pdf/etd/PMT_handbook_v3aE-Chapter5.pdf there is a suggestion to short a certain number of dynodes.

My quandary is how to handle this. My supply voltage to the PMT (aka -HV) is -500V and I want to be able to enable/disable each dynode remotely, either via a 330K resistor on the divider segment, or a 0 ohm to short it to the adjacent dynode..  I'm guessing some BJTs or FETS, coupled with microcontroller GPIOs may be a good start here, but I've got lots of uncertainty.

Any suggestions or ideas?

Thanks!
Gary

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Ultra fancy resistor divider
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2015, 06:36:20 pm »
Shorting out legs of a multiple resistor divider results in a shift in the voltage per (remaining) taps.  It would seem you need a constant current source, so that the voltage per tap is constant (assuming the current draw of the PMT itself is negligible compared to said current).

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2015, 07:41:04 pm »