Author Topic: Unable to write to eeprom at28c256 HELP PLEASE  (Read 2033 times)

Offline NovacicTopic starter

Unable to write to eeprom at28c256 HELP PLEASE
« on: August 12, 2017, 08:43:37 pm »
I am trying to write atmel at28c256 on breadboard so I tied all address lines to ground, and all I/O lines also tied to ground. I untie I/O lines for reading, tie 'WE to high, 'CE to low, and 'OE to low for reading. I am reading all ones at I/O ports, no matter what address. So, when I try to write this eeprom I put 'OE high and with 'WE line I touch to ground so that should write stuff to memory but it does not, all I/O ports were connected. I also made small RC circuit with button on WE but that also does not work. Any toughts?

Offline slambo511

Re: Unable to write to eeprom at28c256 HELP PLEASE
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 09:03:16 am »
Hi,

I am no expert myself but am in a similar position, I found this video

very helpful - he uses the 16k version not the 256k one you have but they should have the same pin out. Hope it helps.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 08:04:57 pm »
-OE must be high, and -CE and -WE must be low to start a write cycle.  The falling edge of -CE or -WE latches the address and the rising edge of -CE or -WE latches the data and starts the write cycle.  -CE or -WR must be low for at least 100 nanoseconds.

Offline jfigge

• Contributor
  • Learning is easy - understanding is hard
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2020, 04:26:41 pm »
I know this is old, but wanted to post a response incase someone, much like myself, stumbles across this post while looking for answers...

It seems some 28C256 EEPROM chips are being shipped with SDP (Software Data Protection) enabled.  Technically Atmel doesn't ship the chip in this state, so it does make me wonder if my branded chip is a clone  :-\