Author Topic: Understanding amperage  (Read 4072 times)

Offline jamessinghalTopic starter

• Contributor
Understanding amperage
« on: April 20, 2017, 08:38:55 pm »
I am still a newbie, and I am in the process of learning about power supplies, and wanted to know a little more about amperage.

My current understanding is that a if a power supply says 10 amps, the maximum is 10 amps, and amperage depends on how much the device is using.

If somebody has a correction, or more information on this topic, I would love to hear it!

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Understanding amperage
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 09:07:30 pm »
The term amperage is not really used in electronics.
You'll see it used in electric power generation and distribution to describe the current carrying capability of cables and switch gear.

The following users thanked this post: Vtile

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 09:16:22 pm »
We tend to use 'current' and express it in amperes.

A circuit draws the current is wants up to the ability of the source to deliver.  Most power supplies are 'constant voltage' and 'current limiting'.  Very few are 'constant current' because that implies that the supply will deliver whatever voltage is required (at that instant) to keep the load current constant.  There are uses for 'constant current' but a bench supply is probably not one of them.

You will see people using 'constant current' when they really mean 'current limiting'.

Offline suicidaleggroll

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 09:23:54 pm »
You will see people using 'constant current' when they really mean 'current limiting'.
I'm not sure I understand the distinction you're trying to point out.  What is the difference between constant current and current limiting in your view?  Because most bench supplies do switch to constant current mode when the load impedance drops below your set voltage / current.

Offline Vtile

• Super Contributor