Author Topic: USB charger  (Read 5845 times)

Offline 3Good5UTopic starter

USB charger
« on: September 20, 2014, 09:54:40 pm »
I'd like to make an USB charger. I can break out some USB port from old PC parts. I am thinking of just connecting 3x rechargable AA batteries (4.5V) but a USB port is usually 5V, I assume it's not a problem to go under 5V ? Should I place a voltage regulator as well ? (P.S. I have no experience with a voltage regulator, if the voltage is below the specified voltage, will it go up to that voltage or only limit to that voltage ?)
Thanks in advance !

Axel

Offline kxenos

• Frequent Contributor
Re: USB charger
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2014, 10:31:10 pm »
You will need a circuit that's called step-up or boost converter (2Euros in ebay) for this or have 4 batteries and use an LDO linear regulator but there are other issues with this. Linear or LDO regulators used like this will typically give the input voltage minus about 0.3 - 0.5V but it will not be regulated, meaning it will not be steady: As your batteries discharge the voltage will drop.

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2014, 07:17:24 am »
This is something you can buy off the shelf or are you trying to learn ? If you want to learn then basically your learning about SMPS or linear regulators, you might be best doing that in a less challenging design first like trying to convert 12V to 5V

Offline 3Good5UTopic starter

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2014, 11:34:08 am »
I am an electromechanics student so I guess this is good practice. I might as well buy these chargers as they only cost around €15  :P

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2014, 11:47:57 am »