Author Topic: Use transistors to switch between two signals  (Read 7072 times)

Offline gbuilderTopic starter

Use transistors to switch between two signals
« on: April 19, 2018, 10:09:22 am »
Hello,
As a beginner, I have tended to use lots of relays for logic and switching, since the way they operate is very intuitive.
I'm staring to understand that in many cases, using transistors for switching is a better choice (cheaper, smaller, better for high frequency switching, etc)

I've enjoyed learning how to use transistors to switch a signal on or off, invert, buffer and provide gain. Very useful.  :)

I'd now like to understand if it is possible to use transistor circuit to switch between two different signals.
Specifically, I'd like to find a circuit which will perform the same function as my relay switching circuit below.

In this case, the MCU digital output state determines which signal from the inputs is connected to the output.

Update: Thanks hamster_nz for spotting the flaws in my relay circuit. It was just a quick sketch to illustrate my question, but you are quite correct and I have uploaded a corrected version which might be useful for people reading the thread in future:

« Last Edit: April 25, 2018, 10:37:42 am by gbuilder »

Re: Use transistors to switch between two digital signals
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2018, 10:57:51 am »
Hmm, or should I be using an "analogue switch"/"multiplexer" IC for this function?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2018, 11:00:09 am by gbuilder »

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 11:00:23 am »
Hmm, or should I be using an "analogue switch" IC for this function?
Or some logic gates, if there are only two signals.

Offline ogden

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2018, 11:08:06 am »
I'd now like to understand if it is possible to use transistor circuit to switch between two different signals.