Author Topic: using a logic pulse to ring a bell?  (Read 4582 times)

Offline edb1984Topic starter

• Contributor
using a logic pulse to ring a bell?
« on: January 27, 2014, 01:32:17 am »
Hello Everyone

I have been watching the EEV Blog videos on Youtube for some time and have been "tinkering" with electronics on and off as a complete amateur for a few years, i have ZERO knowledge of my own and follow others guides as a general rule.

i have been making some Nixie, VFD and LED clocks for the past few months and i have a question that i cant find an answer to and i was hoping you might be able to help out.

i have built a few Single digit nixie clocks from this website http://www.electronixandmore.com/projects/nixieclocks/3.html
and although i have managed to build it fine, i wanted to use the Logic pulse to drive a servo or something similar to strike a bell to indicate the hour.

his design states that
"NOTE: There is a chime logic pulse output on pin 2 (RA3). The logic output will give a number of pulses in accord to the hour when the minutes turn to zeros. For instance, there are 8 logic pulses from pin 2 when the time turns to 8:00. The output is not an audio frequency, it is a simple logic pulse, so one would need an tone or chime generator for the audio."

is there any simple way of converting this into a output to strike a bell? i have emailed the author of the guide but had no reply so maybe you could help out? if there is a way of converting this output, where would i find a schematic?

if not, does anyone know of a guide or similar for me to build a clock that will manually "strike" the hours? i have searched the net high and low but cant seem to find anything relevant.
i like this design because it is simple and although i am jumping on a bandwagon i love VFD / Nixie tubes.

please forgive my ignorance and any silly questions, like i said - i can follow a guide well but have ZERO knowledge.

many thanks in advance!

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor