Author Topic: using a mechanical relay  (Read 1917 times)

Offline AdhithTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
using a mechanical relay
« on: November 30, 2017, 05:49:25 pm »
hello everyone..
I'm actually new to work with relay and AC power supply. I'm planning to drive a adenoidal valve which works on AC mains. I want it to be controlled using a 9V battery. So if I go for using mechanical relay how should be the connection?? also How should I connect the fly back diode??

Offline retrolefty

• Super Contributor
  • measurement changes behavior
Re: using a mechanical relay
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 06:17:48 pm »
If your going to power the relay coil with 9 volt battery then the only real choice for a relay is a latching relay that draws coil power only during switching, not when steady on or off.

Offline Old Don

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2017, 01:45:30 am »
You'll need a relay with contacts rated for 250 VAC or more plus a coil that works on 9 VDC. (or maybe 6 to 12 VDC). With a latching relay you can use a SPDT momentary switch to toggle the relay. No flyback diode needed in that case. Only needed if driving it from solid state device.
Retired - Formerly: Navy ET, University of Buffalo Electronic Tech, Field Engineer and former laptop repair business owner

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2017, 11:45:19 am »

If you are using a mechanical switch in lieu of transistor still use
diode clamp.

Regards, Dana.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2017, 11:52:46 am by danadak »
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

Offline perieanuo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2017, 07:59:44 pm »
S202S12

Envoyé de mon HUAWEI NXT-L29 en utilisant Tapatalk

Offline AdhithTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2017, 08:23:24 pm »