Author Topic: Using a small DC drive as a variable dc power supply.  (Read 914 times)

Offline gobblockTopic starter

Using a small DC drive as a variable dc power supply.
« on: June 22, 2016, 10:55:37 pm »
greetings my sparky brothers of the air conditioned bench variety! I'm not really a beginner but I come from another dimension of the electron than most of you it seems, so I thought I should put this in the beginner forum. Also I am brand new to the forum.

Basically I've been dealing with many small dc drives for fractional dc motors at work, and it occurred to me that the drives themselves are actually very affordable for hobby projects.

I've been working on a control cabinet which will require a very large dc power supply (~1kw) to drive a very large led array through 4 current mirror boards I made with through hole technology. Right now I'm just controlling the lights by using a chunky relay to switch them on and off based on digital plc i/o.

Is there any reason I couldn't replace my 24v power supply that feeds the current mirrors with a dc drive? The drives I'm looking at are 0-90VDC and 0-18ADC with 0-10vdc control signal for 'speed' which is actually just armature voltage control afaik (or my intensity). Obviously I would have to rearrange my LED series/parallel arrangement, and make sure my current mirrors can handle the whatever voltage I end up using, and make sure I can get a output range by (de)linearizing the i/o mapping. I have another project I would like to use my 24v 850w power supply for, and this upgrade would free it up for that while opening up a few CUBIC FEET of space inside my control panel, all the while providing new things to learn and costing less than buying a duplicate power supply. This is the family of drives I was primarily considering.

http://www.kbelectronics.com/manuals/kbic_manual.pdf