Author Topic: Very simple LANC controller  (Read 11560 times)

Offline salamanderTopic starter

• Contributor
Very simple LANC controller
« on: September 15, 2014, 04:32:56 pm »
Hi, I'm seeking a bit of advice.
I would like to design and build a simple LANC controller, it's just a simple pushbutton and an indication LED (maybe two color - ready/recording).
The priority is low cost and small footprint.
My problem is the choice of the Microcontroller, I have some experience with Atmel chips, so I was thinking about an AtTiny ... could anyone help me?

Thanks a lot :)

I looked over http://www.boehmel.de/lanc.htm so I kind of know what I'm dealing with.

Offline fcb

• Super Contributor
  • Test instrument designer/G1YWC
    • Electron Plus
Re: Very simple LANC controller
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 04:52:48 pm »
You can do LANC with pretty much any micro.  I used to make a LANC product (it did more than just LANC) and that had an PIC18Fxxxx micro in it - you can do LANC with a PIC10F if you want.
https://electron.plus Power Analysers, VI Signature Testers, Voltage References, Picoammeters, Curve Tracers.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2014, 05:00:49 pm »
Thanks for answer :)

I'm just curious, I've read some articles on the internet about controlling LANC and I have 2 questions:
1) Is the micro fast enough to not just send the command, but also read back the data from the cam?
2) I read about timing issues with different cameras (Sony/Canon), do you have any experience with that?

Offline fcb

• Super Contributor
  • Test instrument designer/G1YWC
    • Electron Plus
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2014, 07:07:21 pm »
1. Yes, even if you bit bang the interface. From memory it's only 9600 (I did the project perhaps 10years ago).
2. Yes, there is a small difference HOWEVER if your implementing basic functions (I was also reading TC) it should be fine.