Author Topic: Voltage dividers for microcontroller batt. monitors  (Read 2458 times)

Offline TreefrogXTopic starter

Voltage dividers for microcontroller batt. monitors
« on: October 09, 2017, 11:06:26 pm »
Hi Folks,

This is my first post here, so a brief introduction: I'm well in to my thirties, had a career as a PHP code monkey, and now find myself far more interested in low level activity. It started with arduino, then the ESP8266, then I found EEVblog and videos that I didn't understand but found oddly compelling so persisted to watch anyway, and now I just can't shake the habit.  My name is TreefrogX, and I'm an electron dependent. :)

My conundrum on voltage dividers:
I have no background in electronics so I'm struggling with the basics. I need to monitor voltage from a 3.7v li-ion bank with a 3.3v ADC (ESP8266 analog input).   Taking into account the 4.2v charge voltage, I reckoned a 5v maximum expected voltage would suffice.  Divide 5v to 3.3 and convert back in software. Easy. The problem is, I don't know how to divide it on a hardware level.  If I go too low on ohms I'm creating a near dead short across my battery.  I could solve this with high power resistors, or high value ones (I think?) but how do I find the optimum values?  Dumping amps through a 5w resistor probably isn't the best use of my battery, but I can't go too high on the resistance value or there won't be enough current to drive the ADC input, or will there? When? How? What? Ahhh, help!

Offline sokoloff

• Super Contributor
Re: Voltage dividers for microcontroller batt. monitors
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 11:18:13 pm »
Use a high value resistor divider. The A/DC works on voltage, not current (to a very strong first-order approximation).

Most of all, though, try it on the bench and teach yourself what works. I'd start in the 100s of Kohm to 1 Megaohm range and see what you get from that. Do a power loss calculation from the resistor bridge (E*E/R).

Offline ahbushnell