Author Topic: Voltage measurement using an oscilloscope vs multimeter  (Read 13661 times)

Offline createthisTopic starter

Voltage measurement using an oscilloscope vs multimeter
« on: September 15, 2015, 01:58:25 pm »
So, disclaimer here, I more or less have no idea how to operate an oscilloscope. I've always wanted one, so I finally bought one. I have a little electronics theory under my belt (book knowledge), but I'm not an electrical engineer. I'm a programmer by trade.

I've been playing with the scope, and the one thing that keeps sticking out like a sore thumb is that I can't trust the voltage measurements. They seem to bounce around depending on the scale, etc. So, I thought I'd reach out and learn something rather than continue to bumble around like an idiot.

It's painfully obvious in this video I made, attempting to measure inrush current from my 12v fridge's compressor: https://youtu.be/O_DnUwPpbKQ (skip to 19:40 for the part about the oscilloscope)

Why does my multimeter give me different voltage measurements than my oscilloscope?

How do I properly setup my Rigol oscilloscope so that it's voltage measurements match my multimeter?

Thanks!

--
Jesse
CreateThis.com

Offline timb

• Super Contributor
  • Pretentiously Posting Polysyllabic Prose
    • timb.us
Re: Voltage measurement using an oscilloscope vs multimeter
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2015, 03:13:53 pm »
Scopes are really meant to measure the relative change of a signal over time, not an absolute voltage. For absolute voltage measurements, you're looking at one decimal place of accuracy, I.e., 12.0V, 12.1V, etc. at best.

Modern digital scopes are better at this with their digital readouts, historically analog scopes were even less accurate, since you had to count which grid line the trace was on to get your measurement (if you're set at 10V/div and the trace is on the third division from the bottom your signal is roughly 30V, assuming you zeroed it out at the bottom).