Author Topic: Voltage Measurements in Noisy AC Environments  (Read 3041 times)

Offline Geoff201Topic starter

Voltage Measurements in Noisy AC Environments
« on: January 05, 2014, 06:44:16 pm »
I've read a few of the posts here regarding multimeters, and am confident someone can answer my question regarding voltage measurements in noisy ac environments.  Firstly, I'm not a professional in the electrical sciences, but I possess a good general knowledge of ac and dc systems, so I shouldn't be perturbed by the language of your trade.

I'm trying to measure voltage of a power supply board, in operation, in a (relatively small) 150 KVA, 1000 Hz induction furnace (yes, I've taken safety precautions).  This board provides power to the logic board that produces the pulses for the scrs.

This is all just background information.  The problem I'm having is that when I move the multimeter leads near the test point, the digits on the multimeter's display change wildly, such that the reading is meaningless.  In fact, moving the leads anywhere within 2 feet of the cabinet produces this effect.  The effect is the same, whether the selector switch is set to dc or ac voltage, or any range, though it only happens while the leads are plugged in.  Upon touching the leads to the test points, the reading doesn't settle.

I know that I could remove the dc supply board, power it remotely, and measure its output with a dummy load, but I've posted this question here, only to find out what's happening with the multimeter.  The model I'm using is an MTP-2850 with CAT III, 10A Mastech leads, nothing stellar, but seems to have been alright for general purpose use in the past.